Superbowl Monday!

Due to the time difference, Superbowl Sunday was actually Superbowl Monday here in Amman. The game began at 2:30am and the American sports bar on Rainbow street stayed open all night to air it. My friends and I decided it would be fun to go, along with most of the CIEE program. In order to stay awake for this all-night football marathon, I came home immediately after classes and slept from 5pm to 10pm.

We went to Buffalo Wings and Rings at 1am and it was already packed. Most of the other CIEE kids decided to sleep and didn’t show up, so there were only 8 of us at a table.

Although there are tourists in Amman, most of the Americans I see are other students in the program, so meeting an American NOT in CIEE is quite exciting. Allison and I immediately made friends with the table of guys next to ours. They were strangely shy about telling us that they were in the US military together, but we eventually figured it out. One of the army guys AND the manager of BW&R were both from Cincinnati so we had a nice chat about Skyline and goetta. I feel as if my Arabic improves exponentially when I use it for fun in social settings rather than reading it from a textbook in class.

The game ended around 7am and I arrived back to my apartment just in enough time to meet Lauren at 7:30am to catch a cab to my 8am class. The first half of Arabic class was a challenge, but as soon as I had a dose of Turkish coffee halfway through, I was wide-awake for the rest of the day.

This weekend we are heading to Petra and Wadi Rum for a CIEE weekend trip. We will be riding camels, camping in Bedouin tents in the desert, and seeing Jordan’s most famous attraction!

2 thoughts on “Superbowl Monday!

  1. Sounds like you are having a wonderful experience in Jordan! I anxiously anticipate my email notices of your updates so I can read the next adventure! Continue to explore this amazing country and be safe. Love you. Aunt Kathy

Leave a Reply

