Welcome to Portland!

I am officially in Portland!

As some of you may know, I was offered a summer internship in Portland doing social media for a small clothing boutique. I am ecstatic to have the chance to live in a new city for the summer and explore everything this quirky city has to offer. I didn’t know anyone in the city before coming, but I’ve managed to make a few friends via online networks. I found my current apartment on Craigslist and I couldn’t be happier with it!

photo
IMG_1489
IMG_1490

I already feel so comfortable living here. My roommate is extremely nice. She is 24 and graduated from Portland State. We both love to eat healthy and keep the place clean. My favorite part of the apartment is its location (or maybe the extremely comfy couch and Netflix on the TV…)! The apartment is a block away from a Safeway. While I prefer shopping at Whole Foods or farmer’s markets, this is really nice for toiletries and impulsive baking! The apartment is also about 2-3 blocks away from the “downtown” of the St. John’s neighborhood filled with cafes, bars, and restaurants. The only downside of being so close is that the street is fairly busy and people like to ride their extremely loud motorcycles down the street at 3am.

I spent most of my first day stocking up on groceries and doing minor shopping. I managed to snap a cool photos! The St. John’s Bridge is GORGEOUS and is about a block away from my apartment. I love driving across it.

Screen shot 2013-06-02 at 1.37.39 PM

My neighborhood is a bit farther away from downtown Portland than I expected, but it only takes about 15 minutes to get downtown. The interstate system is pretty confusing, but I’m sure I’ll get to know it eventually. I probably won’t be using public transportation that often. There is a train system, but it still takes about 8 minutes to drive to from my apartment and there isn’t a parking lot for it.

IMG_1495
IMG_1496
IMG_1511

IMG_1512

Last night I met up with another girl who had just moved to Portland. We walked about the Hawthorne area and went to Sizzle Pie for dinner. It is a pizza place that is apparently pretty well known. I love how there are vegan options EVERYWHERE! Even my side salad had vegan ranch dressing!

My friend, also named Katie, gave me a lot of helpful tips about Portland. She showed me a “secret” dessert restaurant. It looks like a simple house from the outside, but apparently it is a cool hangout open til midnight that serves homemade desserts. I’ll definitely have to check it out. Two of the places I want to go to the most are Voodoo Doughnuts and Salt & Straw. Voodoo was featured on Man vs. Food for their unique doughnut flavors. Salt & Straw has bizarre ice cream flavors like olive oil and pepper! I love strange combinations so I can’t wait to go.

Another unique feature of Portland is the popularity of food carts. At home, food carts are pretty rare and usually only serve hot dogs on the street corner. But in Portland, entire parking lots are filled with a variety of food cart ranging from Thai to gyros to breakfast food! They are viewed as reputable restaurants and not trailers of food poisoning. Almost every 3 blocks there is a row of food carts. I haven’t gone to one yet, but I hear there is a potato food cart that serves poutine, my favorite!

DSCN4586

I plan to spend the rest of the day going to the weekend market downtown with another new friend and then going on a hike! I never got into hiking while in Colorado, so hopefully Portland will be the place to start! It has been exceptionally sunny so today should be a good day. My internship starts on Tuesday and I work Tuesday/Thursday/Friday. I am trying to find another part-time job to fill the rest of the days.

Leave a Reply

