New Blog Features!

Since my life in Portland is substantially less exotic and exciting than in Amman, I’ve decided to add two new weekly blog segments so every post isn’t a boring recap of my day!

The first will be called “Links from the Abyss: Rare Finds from the Depths of the Internet” and will feature six interesting/strange/humorous things I’ve found during my past week of internetting. The idea was sparked by my internship which requires me to assemble a similar type of blog post, but more fashion related. Plus, who doesn’t love helpful hints and tricks courtesy of Google?

The second periodical will be “The Filtered Five,” which will be five of my most recent Instagram’d photos from the past week. Instagram is a popular smartphone app that allows you to take a photo, put a filter on it to make it look more “artsy,” and then share it with friends who also have the app. You can also share the photos on Facebook, Twitter, etc. If you want to follow me, my username on the app is ScaredCatepillar (strange, yes), but I’ll also be uploading the most interesting pictures onto my blog each week! After all, everyone loves pictures!

In other news, I have completed my first week of my internship! I have a social media internship for a clothing company here in Portland. My main job responsibilities are managing the company Twitter account (if you want to help out, follow @shopadorn), writing a few blog posts, and populating the fashion websites with the store’s products. I also do miscellaneous tasks as delegated by my coworkers. The best part of the job is how laid back it is! I can determine my own hours as long as I am in the “office” for at least 10 hours per week, supplemented by an additional 10 hours that can be out-of-office. I put office in quotations because my workspace is actually in a loft above the actual store. It is fun to hear customers come and go and I really feel like a part of the store.

On my off time, I’ve been trying to build my social circle! I’ve made two pretty good friends so far and we always do fun things on the weekends. Some of my friends in Denver have other friends in Portland that they have introduced me to, so I’m still trying to meet up with a few of them, but the trick really is just networking! If you make one friend, she is bound to introduce you to several more!

My only current dilemma is finding a second job! I’ve applied to so many I’ve lost count, but it is definitely nearing the 20’s. Whole Foods, Walgreens, Safeway, Starbucks, Joe’s Crab Shack… everywhere! It is so frustrating because I have experience and feel overqualified for several of the positions, so it makes me question who they are actually hiring! Oh well. I definitely believe in Fate, so I guess I am just meant to be content until the perfect job opens up.

I’m also questioning what to do about renewing my license! It expires in October, but I am not scheduled to be back in Kentucky until November and I can’t drive without a valid license. I’ve looked into it and license renewals MUST be done in person, so I can’t do it by mail. I can either fly home sometime in August after my late-July birthday in order to get my new vertical over-21 license, or I could simply renew it in Colorado. I’m not sure of the implications of changing states on my license, but I suppose I’ll have to do a bit of research.

While I’m mulling over this important life decision, you can look forward to my first installment of Links from the Abyss premiering this Friday!

Leave a Reply

