A December in Review!

This past month has been a whirlwind! I returned from my incredible trip abroad just in time for Christmas! It was a typical Collins-style celebration filled with laughs and hurt feelings. The highlight of my holiday season was my discovery of a delicious eggnog fudge recipe. It is incredibly easy to make and even easier to binge on at 2am!

I’m currently torn between deciding which Christmas gift was my favorite – my brand new 2013 Honda Civic or my “Nice Jewish Guys” calendar. The former was a gift to myself to celebrate my graduation from the University of Denver (diploma forthcoming). The process of test driving cars was exhausting. We made it a family outing and visited Mazda, Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Chevy, and Ford. The 2014 Mazda3 was my absolute favorite, but the model I wanted was too far out of my price range. Overall, I am extremely happy with my Civic. It was left over from 2013 and only had 50 miles on it! The base model even comes with a back-up camera, Bluetooth connection to my iPhone, and an incredibly fancy interactive screen. All of these features combined with the incredible gas mileage make me feel like I’m driving a tricked-out Prius!

996996_10201736677197499_1874803102_n

1488041_10200215014056429_80530370_n

For New Year’s Eve, my brother invited me to join his crew and go downtown to his favorite bar: Scene Ultra Lounge. He had reserved a table roped off from the general public, so it was a great way to ring in 2014! Now, I just have to focus on finding an apartment in Portland, Oregon, so I can move and start my new career (TBD).

I’ve been communicating with several people but they always seem to fall through. I suppose it is easier for them to be able to meet their potential roommate in real life, but I can’t move to Portland and be homeless while hunting! I don’t want to lower my standards, though. I refuse to pay above $550 total per month, refuse to live with a couple, and refuse to live as far away from downtown as I did last summer. The average rent in the area I am interested in is around $450-$600, so I know it is possible! I also really want to find a roommate I get along with. Nothing is worse than living with someone you don’t mesh with. I became such great friends with my previous roommates in Denver and I wish I could recreate that type of relationship. I’m currently talking to a girl who seems to want the same things I do in creating a home, so hopefully it works out and I’ll be living in Portland within the next month! *fingers crossed*

In the meantime, I’m trying to make a bit of money! I’ve been scouring the house for unused items to sell on Craigslist. So far I’ve made $80 from my clarinet and $90 from my old DVDs and books. Not bad for being unemployed!

Leave a Reply

