24 Hour Nightmare

Before I start this post, I have some awful news. As if my transition to Portland wasn’t bumpy enough, our landlord contacted us today to tell us that our move-in date was delayed yet again. Apparently the damage was worse than originally expected so they had to get a commercial insurance inspector to come out. Now, we won’t be able to move in until March 12th. That’s an entire month and two days past our original move in day! It is really rough living off of the bare minimum (one pair of jeans! two bar shirts! minimal underwear!) but the location of my roommate’s old apartment is prime, so I’m not complaining too much. I haven’t seem my roommate recently since she is housesitting for two weeks and I’m here all alone. We are grabbing dinner tomorrow and plan to discuss our next move. We are trying to decide whether we want to wait it out or possibly look into the feasibility of finding a new place that we could move into ASAP. It’s such a headache and I wish it weren’t happening, but what can you do?

Screen Shot 2014-02-25 at 9.28.24 PM

I may have mentioned my free week pass to 24 Hour Fitness in my last post. If not, I got a free pass to work out for an entire week! Gyms are extremely expensive nowadays – $100 down and then $40 month-to-month. Who has time for that? Since I have so much free time, I figured I would spend it being active.

I went to 24HF on Monday with the email on my smartphone. It told me to simply show it to the front desk and I would be given access. It did not mention that I would have to be given a tour and have a meeting with a manager/personal trainer! My family belongs to a country club at home, so I’m plenty familiar with the pool, treadmill room, cycling room, and weights. It wasted 20 minutes of my day! Then, I had to sit down with him and tell him my “fitness goals” which are nonexistent. I just don’t want to feel lazy! Somedays that means simply jogging on the treadmill while watching an episode of Ellen and other days it is an hour long intensive cardio class!

Screen Shot 2014-02-25 at 9.13.30 PM

I managed to tell him that I’m not ready to buy yet and I am just testing various gyms to find the right one. He was nice enough to accept that give me my temporary paper pass. Monday evening I went to a different 24HF location with my friend to go to a Zumba class. I wasn’t given any hassle upon entry, but the class itself was bizarre. Somehow I was pushed to the front of the class next to the teacher and the moves were so hard! Every Zumba class I’ve done in Kentucky was mostly modern music with normal dance moves, but in Portland it is all salsa dancing with fast and fancy footwork. It is more mental anguish trying to keep up than physical exertion!

This morning, I woke up at 7:30am due to awful construction on our street and decided to go to the gym. I flashed my pass, expecting to be let in like last time, but was stopped and told that I have to have a meeting with a manager/personal trainer EVERY day I come!! I was trying to arrive at the gym by 10am so I could watch my favorite morning talk show but was 20 minutes late to it since I had to have a “meeting” which consisted of me repeating myself and them pressuring me into buying. 24HF is a nice place and I might have considered joining, but their pushy tactics have 100% guaranteed that I will never go back.

Screen Shot 2014-02-25 at 9.14.00 PM

The local dance studio that I took a Zumba class with last week emailed me to offer a free strength training class. I took them up on the offer and went to a “Fusion” class tonight. It was described as being a relaxed cardio dance class. I was hoping it would be like Zumba with with modern music but I was absolutely wrong. It was a yoga/pilates class. I’ve taken yoga in the past and it just isn’t my thing. I’m not very well balanced and not at all flexible, so this class was a mixture of torture and embarrassment. Oh well, at least it was free!

Next week I plan on utilizing a week-long free trail at a place called the Diva Den. They specialize ONLY on fun all-women dance classes! I would love to be a member at this place but it is located on the West side of town and is just too far away to go to frequently. I will just have to make the most of my week-long trial!

Leave a Reply

