All the Time in the World

There’s a personality question that asks “Would you rather good or interesting things happen?” I’ve always been a staunch supporter of the “interesting” camp. How exciting could life be if only good things happened? I think the best example I can share is when traveling. Sure, it would be lovely if reservations, tickets, and directions all worked out flawlessly, but aren’t the most memorable experiences when you are lost and confused at 4am in a strange city with your best friends? My adventures in the Middle East were rife with baffling mishaps and, while frustrating at the time, I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Now that my 90-day contract at work has come to a close, I had to have an honest discussion with myself about the direction I wanted my life to go. I’ll miss my coworkers, but the end of this chapter has been the perfect answer to the slump I’d been feeling lately. I have been slowly realizing that maybe I’m not cut out for an isolated cubicle job.

When I first moved to Portland, I had the opportunity to live on my own. That’s basically the young American dream! While the idea of loud music, no bed time, and a kitchen full of dishes may sound appealing to some… it just isn’t my bag of tea. I knew I wanted a roommate since I am such a social person. Coming home from a day at work to a quiet and empty apartment just seemed lonely. I’ve always had great luck with roommates in the past, so I decided to pass on the solo apartment. It was a great decision and I’ve decided to bring the same philosophy into my new job hunt. Starting today, I’ll start my hunt for the fast-paced job of my dreams where I can interact with customers and be the face of an office!

If anyone knows of a fun company in need of ME… feel free to send them my way!

Leave a Reply

