Autumn Goal: End the Netflix Fix!

Our apartment doesn’t have a TV. Mainly because I don’t want to pay for cable or fuss with getting an antenna to get fuzzy local channels. I don’t care much for network television and tend to only watch shows available on HBO or Showtime. Plus, my mom has a Netflix account which I can use practically anywhere on my laptop.

Most guests are amazed by the lack of TV in our apartment. It has almost become a source of pride for me. However, after a long Netflix-binge session, I realized I was a hypocrite. How could I take pride in telling people I don’t own a television when I commonly watched 1 or 2 hour-long episodes on Netflix each night? That WAS television… just viewed on a laptop.

This hypocrisy combined with the habit of eating my dinners in front of the computer and, therefore, always feeling the need to snack while watching my shows, resulted in my decision to tell Mom to change the Netflix password and reveal it until January. I’ve gotten so much more done! I can read my growing pile of books and apply for more free samples (guilty pleasure) and spend more time getting outside. I always looked forward to spending my days off “relaxing” with Netflix, but is being a lazy sloth really a worthwhile use of my time? Now that it is fall, I want to go to the pumpkin patch and haunted houses and craft more! I can also finally utilize my full kitchen and BAKE now that I have 10 eager taste-testers aka coworkers.

I will miss my recent discovery of great shows on Netflix. If you haven’t seen Bojack Horseman, The League, or Mad Men (I know, I’m late to the party), I highly recommend them! Just enjoy in moderation.

Leave a Reply

