San Diego!

At the end of October, I took a trip with my mom and my brother’s finance, Alicia, to San Diego! It was a fun trip and I definitely enjoyed escaping the cold Portland rain! I had only ever been to San Francisco before, so I was excited to see southern California.

We landed on Tuesday evening and I was shocked how warm it was outside! The weather had said the high would be in the 70’s, similar to Portland, so I packed jeans and tank tops. I didn’t even wear my jeans once because it was so hot! It felt like 95 the entire trip and the sun only made it worse. I am definitely glad I packed a few dresses, but I am bummed I didn’t bring a bathing suit.

10524730_10206110614423196_8526173626319405434_n

On our first day, we explored Coronado Island and partook in some bar trivia downtown. Our team name was the “Cincinnasties” and we definitely lost. All of the questions were impossibly hard!

Day 2 was spent hiking in Torrey Pines State Park. I think this was my favorite part of the entire trip. I’ve always noticed how movies set in California have the characters go on morning hikes, but I never understood the appeal. In Portland, we have great hiking, but it is all shady trees and muddy trails. In California, it is gorgeous! We saw the coast and took some great photos.

1234118_10206110616903258_1883064512698152470_n 12009597_10206110618023286_7245030008660116290_n

We spent the rest of the day in La Jolla, Pacific Beach, and Ocean Beach. That evening, we went to a delicious dinner in North Park and indulged in some muscles and oysters. I love having fresh seafood!

On Day 3 we had a sinful brunch at Breakfast Republic. We tried the french toast sampler and it came with Smores, Peanut Butter, and Coconut flavors! All were delicious. We also tried the coffee flight that came with a Mocha Latte, Regular Latte, and a Mexican Latte.

11224764_10206110619183315_5014557147934564219_n

Afterwards, we rolled back to the hotel and got ready for our big cruise! We stopped by Monello in Little Italy for their “apertivo.” I love this concept! You purchase a cocktail and the chef makes you 3 little appetizers to enjoy with your beverage. It was such a nice way to enjoy eating outside and relaxing before the cruise.

We went on the Hornblower Cruise around the San Diego Bay. It reminded me a lot of the Dinner Train due to the captain’s occasional history lessons over the loud speaker. I actually enjoyed learning that the aircraft carriers have their own zip code and that the Coronado Bridge is curved because the original design wasn’t long enough to receive government funding!

12019927_10206111597367769_7640280125858045056_n

After the cruise, we checked out the nightlife in Little Italy. First up was Kettner Exchange which was very trendy and uppity. I do love drinking with my fellow yuppies, but this scene was a bit more “desperate 30-something” than “fun and single 20-something.” After a few drinks, we walked to El Camino. I loved this place! It is a little divey Mexican bar with authentic decor and little room to move around. The best part? The open patio and extremely loud jumbo jets flying overhead every 5 minutes. The airport is just across the street, so they were surreally close!

On our final day, we were supposed to visit Tijuana, but the tour was cancelled, so we explored Balboa Park. It is a popular spot for tourists to visit the museums, but also for locals to get married! We saw at least 4 separate weddings taking place.

12190123_10206120315225710_7591854852115156939_n

That night, we had big plans to go clubbing at Bang Bang, but the cover was $20! No place is worth that ticket price. We ended up discovering my new favorite bar – Blush Ice Bar. All of their drinks are in “slush” form, which makes them so much more fun to drink. The vibe was also great – sleek, modern furniture and dim lights, but not too many skeevy men. I would definitely check this place out if you’re looking for evening fun in San Diego!

It was great getting to catch up with Mom and spend some time with Ali. She even asked me to be one of her bridesmaids in the wedding next year! I feel bad that I won’t be around to contribute much in terms of the bachelorette party and wedding shower, but I wouldn’t miss the wedding for the world!

Leave a Reply

