The Big 2-4!

In just 10 days I will be turning 24!

My birthday falls on a Saturday this year, so I’ve organized a big weekend event. I jokingly invited one of my best friends, Caroline, who I met during study abroad and currently lives in DC. She surprised me by buying a plane ticket to come visit! I’m taking a long weekend so I can show her around and celebrate.

Otherwise, my summer has been fairly uneventful. We are nearing the end of kickball season – only 2 games left! The season wasn’t as fun as I expected it to be. I joined to meet new friends and run around in the sunshine, but none of my teammates like to go out after games… in fact, most of them joined with a significant other, so they keep to themselves! There are also quite a few competitive people on our team which makes it less fun for those of us who just want to have fun.

The 4th of July was a lot of fun! I had a bunch of friends over for drinks before we headed to a neighborhood grill out. So much yummy food! I made watermelon jello shots that were cut into triangles on an actual watermelon rind. They were very popular.

In exciting work news, we won the Best Eyewear Shop in Portland! Thanks to everyone who voted!

Now I am just gearing up for my next trip to Vancouver, Canada, in early August. I am going for a 4 day weekend with my friend Alicia. I’m thrilled that we are staying at my favorite hostel! It will be interesting to see how much it has changed since I was last there in 2013.

Leave a Reply

